Online Panel: Voices of New Economies - Opportunity for All

Monday, November 09, 1:00PM to 2:00PM

2:30pm Newfoundland, 2pm Atlantic, 1pm Eastern, 12pm Central, 11am Mountain, 10am Pacific

Across Canada and around the world, people are rising up to shape new economies.  Recognizing that the ecological, social and even financial costs of our current economic system are unsustainable, innovative leaders are finding different paths forward. 

As part of the third annual New Economy Week, this session will challenge us to explore how we can scale promising social innovations towards larger systemic change. 

The contributors will share big ideas and concrete examples of real solutions to further explore perspectives that they and others shared in Voices of New Economies, a report produced as part of Cities for People by One Earth and the Canadian CED Network.

The session offers inspiration for new possibilities that can bring us closer to a just, sustainable, and democratic society.

SPEAKERS

Hosted by Dagmar Timmer, Managing Director and Co-Founder of One Earth, the session will begin with an introduction by Michael Toye, executive Director of the Canadian CED Network and Vanessa Timmer, Executive Director and Co-Founder of One Earth. It features insights from the following Voices contributors:

  • Marianne Jurzyniec, Governance Liaison Manager, Affinity Credit Union

"We know youth are our future therefore investments to educate, mentor, and most importantly to ensure they are contributing to the decisions of today are invaluable.”

  • Sean Geobey, Senior Associate, MaRS Solutions Lab

"Wealth comes from our capacity to invest materially, socially, and intellectually in the creation of institutions and infrastructure that support collective efforts to try and make the world a better place.”

  • Lis Suarez Visbal-Ensink, Executive Director, FEM International and Co-Director, ETHIK BGC

"The capacity to choose what is best for you and yours and embrace it, not to take what you can because it is your only option, or the only thing you can afford.”

  • Pallavi Roy, Youth Environmental Co-ordinator, CultureLink Settlement Services

"The energy sector, which has traditionally been highly controlled, has immense potential to be revolutionized through new economic practices.”

  • Victoria Wee, Computer Science student, Stanford University

"Young people are the ingredient x to really carving out the future that we want.”

  • Nabeel Ahmed, Network Co-ordinator, Social Enterprise Toronto

"At the core, new economies have to be focused around people and protecting public interests, not falling prey to short- term, profit-driven private interests." 

  • Alexa Pitoulis, Managing Director, OpenMedia

"How we interact with media has changed dramatically in the last 20 years.  Local ownership and control over Internet infrastructure is a key component to thriving new economies of the future."

LOGISTICS

  • You will need speakers or a headset on your computer to participate.  To ensure your system will be compatible with our webinar platform, try this connection test or look at the Adobe Connect quick start guide prior to the session.

Register today!

Additional Resources

English

Contact Information: 

communications@ccednet-rcdec.ca